Mind game: What if the EUSBSR was a company?

The NC-group is like an executive team or a board of directors of the EUSBSR-company. As the company structure of EUSBSR is quite complex and involves many departments, teams and actors it is all the more important to secure and boost effective internal communications. The NC-group needs to openly communicate its aims, processes and results in order for the key implementing stakeholders to know where the whole organization is heading. Mutually, the NC-group can expect the departments and teams to report their current actions often enough for them to see that everyone is moving to the same direction.



Transparent & open communications

As the NC-group is the coordinating body of the whole EUSBSR framework, transparency of their communications is crucial. This is recocnised in the Rules of Procedure document adopted by the NC-group in 2017. Following actions now increase the openness of the NCs' coordination work:

  • The draft agenda and dates of the NC meetings are published on the EUSBSR website
  • The reports from the NC-meetings are published on the EUSBSR website

It is up to the chair of the NC-group to make sure this information is published. Close contact with the EUSBSR Communication Point is thus very useful.

In addition to these good practices, the EUSBSR Communication Point encourages the Chair of the NC-group to use the EUSBSR blog platform and/or the internal newsletter to inform about the objectives of each chairmanship and other current EUSBSR issues, e.g. the Annual Forum preparations. The format of the NC-greetings can be a short text and/or a video greeting.

Especially keeping the internal stakeholders (PACs, HACs, National Focal Points and Flagships) informed would significantly improve the internal communication flows within the Strategy framework and ensure all stakeholders have a joint understanding of where the EUSBSR is headed.



NC-group is chaired by 

Estonia in 2017/2018

Denmark in 2018/2019

Finland in 2019/2020

Germany in 2020/2021

Lithuania in 2021/2022

Sweden in 2022/2023

Latvia in 2023/2024

Poland in 2024/2025